## OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER, TELANGANA GENERAL ADMINISTRATION (ELECTIONS) DEPARTMENT

5<sup>th</sup> Floor, North Block, Buddha Bhavan, Tank Bund Rd., Secunderabad – 500003

## Memo No.3865/Elecs.B/2021-15,

Dated:20.11.2021

- Sub: ELECTIONS Biennial Elections, 2021 to the Telangana Legislative Council from 9 Local Authorities' constituencies – Preparation of Electoral Roll – Certain Clarification – Issued - Reg.
- Ref: 1. ECI, Press Note No.ECI/PN/92/2021, dated:09.10.2021.
  - 2. ECI, New Delhi, Lr.No.37/LC/2021-ERS (Vol-III), dt:11.11.2021.
  - 3. Collector & DEO, Rangareddy, Lr.No.H1/5149/2021, dt:12.11.2021
  - 4. Collector & DEO, Adilabad, Lr. No.H4/959/2021, dt:12.11.2021.
  - 5. This Office Letter No.3865/Elecs.B/2021-10, dated:15.11.2021.
  - 6. This Office U.O. Note No.3865/Elecs.B/2021-11, dt:15.11.2021.
  - 7. Telangana Municipalities Act, 2019, Section 5-Composition of Municipalities, Sub sections (4) and (5).
  - Secretary to Govt., Legal Affairs, Legislative Affairs & Justice, Law (B) Dept., U.O. Note No.2742/172/B/2021, dt:16.11.2021.
  - 9. This Office Letter No.3865/Elecs.B/2021-12, dated:16.11.2021.
  - 10. Collector & DEO, Rangareddy, Lr.No.H1/5149/2021, dt:16.11.2021
  - 11. Collector & DEO, Adilabad, Lr. No.H4/959/2021, dt:18.11.2021.
  - 12. This Office Letter No.3865/Elecs.B/2021-14, dated:18.11.2021.
  - 13. ECI, New Delhi, Lr.No.322/ECI/LET/FUNC/TL-LC-LAC/BIEN/2022, dated:19.11.2021.

#### -:000:-

The attention of the Collectors & DEOs of Adilabad, Warangal, Nalgonda, Medak, Nizamabad, Khammam, Karimnagar, Mahabubnagar and Rangareddy Local Authorities' Constituencies is invited to the reference 13<sup>th</sup> cited (copy enclosed), wherein Election Commission of India has clarified that co-opted members of Mandal Praja Parishads (MPPs), Zilla Praja Parishads (ZPPs), Municipalities and Municipal Corporations, are not eligible under the relevant State laws to be included in the Electoral Rolls for the biennial election to Telangana Legislative Council from Local Authorities' constituencies.

2. They are requested to bring the same to the notice of all concerned for scrupulously following the instructions of the ECI issued therein without fail and for taking further necessary action in the matter.

#### 3. This may be treated as **MOST IMPORTANT**.

#### Dr. SHASHANK GOEL CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER & E.O. SPL. CHIEF SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT.

### То

All the Collectors & District Election Officers in the State (w.e)

The Additional Collectors & Electoral Registration officers of Adilabad, Warangal, Nalgonda, Medak, Nizamabad, Khammam, Karimnagar, Mahabubnagar and Rangareddy Local Authorities' Constituencies (through Collectors & DEOs concerned).

## Copy to:

PM (IT), O/o. CEO Telangana, for taking necessary action.

SLA Team), O/o. CEO Telangana (for placing same on CEO website).

#### //FORWARDED:: BY ORDER//

ASSISTANT SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT



# भारत निर्वाचन आयोग Election Commission of India

निर्वाचन सदन NIRVACHAN SADAN अशोक रोड, नई दिल्ली-110001 ASHOKA ROAD, NEW DELHI-110001

No. 322/ECI/LET/FUNC/TL-LC-LAC/BIEN/2022

Dated: 19th November, 2021

To,

ovt.Gen.A

S. Secretar

The Chief Electoral Officer, Telangana, Hyderabad.

Biennial Election to the Telangana Legislative Council from 09 (Nine) Local Authorities Constituencies due to retirement of sitting members on 04.01.2022- Preparation of Electoral Roll- Clarification- reg.

I am directed to refer to your letter no. 3865/Elecs.B/2021-10 dated 15.11.2021,

letter no. 3865/Elecs.B/2021-12 dated 16.11.2021 and 3865/Elecs. B/2021-14 dated

18.11.2021, on the subject cited, and to clarify that co-opted members of Mandal Praja

Parishads (MPPs), Zilla Praja Parishads (ZPPs), Municipalities and Municipal Corporations,

are not eligible under the relevant State laws to be included in the Electoral Rolls for the

election to Telangana Legislative Council from Local Authorities' Constituencies.

Yours faithfully,

(PRAFULL AWASTHI) UNDER SECRETARY